Rhythm of a New Monastic Way of Life

A Live Virtual Teaching with Beverly Lanzetta, Ph.D.

Sunday, May 16, 2021, $45 per person
3:00 – 5:00 pm EDT (noon-2:00 pm PDT, 1:00 – 3:00 pm MDT, 2:00 – 4:00 pm CDT)
Scholarship available – inquire with Guest Services

“There is a divine path interior to your being, an organic constellation of wisdom imprinted into your soul… Before religion or identity is the capacity for silence and solitude intrinsic to personhood. It is the birthright of everyone.” -  The Monk Within by Beverly Lanzetta

Join Dr. Beverly Lanzetta, a monk of peace, on a contemporary pilgrimage as we explore the meaning of living in and for the Holy. In this live zoom session, Beverly focuses on a three-fold process of following the sacred rhythm of each day: 1. Identifying and claiming the monk within us; 2. Forming a new life orientation; 3. Humility as the practice of a monastic heart. Both a contemplative and personally engaged session, we will pray, reflect, discuss, and question. This program is open to participants of all traditions and those who consider themselves “nones.” Beginners in the contemplative practices and those who are experienced practitioners welcome.

Beverly Lanzetta, Ph.D. is a theologian, contemplative scholar and teacher, and the author of many groundbreaking books on emerging universal spirituality and new monasticism, including Radical Wisdom: A Feminist Mystical Theology, Emerging Heart: Global Spirituality and the Sacred, The Monk Within: Embracing a Sacred Way of Life, A New Silence: Spiritual Practices and Formation for the Monk Within, and most recently, A Feast of Prayers: Liturgy to Holy Mystery. Dedicated to a vision of theological openness and spiritual nonviolence, her work has won praise for its wisdom, eloquence, and mystical insight and is considered to be a major contribution to what theologian Ursula King called “a feminine mystical way for the 21st century.” Visit Beverly’s website for more information: www.beverlylanzetta.net.


Schedule for this Live, Virtual Teaching

First Hour:

Prayer
Introduction
Talk: Rhythm of a New Monastic Way of Life

-Short Break-

Second Hour:

Silent Meditation
Break Out Rooms
Questions

Closing Prayer

Sessions:  1
Date:  5/16/2021
Meeting Time:  Sunday 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Instructor:  Beverly Lanzetta, Ph.D.
Fees: 
$45.00   (Class Fee)