Centered in Silence: Rhythm of a New Monastic Way of Life

This will be a live, virtual weekend retreat with Beverly Lanzetta, Ph.D.
Saturday, February 20 & Sunday, February 21, 2021, $110.00 per person
Scholarships available

There is a divine path interior to your being, an organic constellation of wisdom imprinted into your soul… Before religion or identity is the capacity for silence and solitude intrinsic to personhood. It is the birthright of everyone.” - From The Monk Within by Beverly Lanzetta

Join Dr. Lanzetta, a monk of peace, on a contemporary pilgrimage—two days of study, prayer, silence, and reflection on new traditions of contemplative wisdom, living in and with a monastic heart.

The retreat will follow a universal liturgy of hours written by Beverly and used in her monastic practice.

Participants also will be guided to uncover the source of prayer, love of the holy, the soul’s longing, and the monk within every heart. Both a contemplative and personally engaged retreat, we will pray, reflect, discuss, and question. This retreat will best serve those who have an engaged spiritual practice.

 

Weekend Schedule of Topics and Practices

Day One:

Morning Session 11 am - 1 pm EST; (8 - 10 am Pacific; 9 -11 am Mountain; 10 am - noon Central)
Prayer, Introduction
First Talk: The Monk Within Every Heart – 60 minutes
Break Out Rooms: Small Group reflection, discussion, guided exercises 30 – 45 minutes

Afternoon Session 3 pm – 5 pm EST (Noon – 2 pm Pacific Time; 1 pm – 3 pm, Mountain; 2 pm – 4 pm Central)
Prayer
Second Talk: Formation of a New Life Orientation (including vows & Rule of Life) – 60 minutes
Questions & Answers
Silent Meditation to end session

Day Two:

Morning Session 11 am – 1 pm EST (8 am – 10 am Pacific; 9 am – 11 am Mountain; 10 am – noon Central)
Prayer
Third Talk: Contemplation on Humility – 60 minutes
Break Out Rooms: Small group reflection, discussion, exercise (Four Practices of a Monastic Heart) - 30 – 45 minutes
Questions: 30 minutes
Closing Prayer

Beverly Lanzetta, Ph.D. is a theologian, contemplative scholar and teacher, and the author of many groundbreaking books on emerging universal spirituality and new monasticism, including Radical Wisdom: A Feminist Mystical Theology, Emerging Heart: Global Spirituality and the Sacred, The Monk Within: Embracing a Sacred Way of Life, and most recently, The New Silence: Spiritual Practices and Formation for the Monk Within. Dedicated to a vision of theological openness and spiritual nonviolence, her work has won praise for its wisdom, eloquence, and mystical insight and is considered to be a major contribution to what theologian Ursula King called “a feminine mystical way for the 21st century.” Visit Beverly’s website for more information: www.beverlylanzetta.net.

Praise for A New Silence: Spiritual Practices and Formation for the Monk Within by Dr. Lanzetta

“…Beautifully written and deeply helpful and inspiring, [Dr. Lanzetta] has bestowed a great boon upon those of us who are increasingly drawn to an interspiritual life and practice, whether or not we are rooted in a particular religious tradition, as I am, or not.”
-The Rev. Peter Savastano, Ph.D., Association Professor of Anthropology and Religion, Seton Hall University, and author of Merton and Indigenous Wisdom

“…Destined to become a contemplative classic, it belongs in the hands of any reader who takes the contemplative live seriously and with a shot of joy.”
-Paul Swanson, Sr. Program Designer, Center for Action and Contemplation

“Beverly Lanzetta is such a wise and steady guide through the terrain of the soul. In this book she invites us through a series of contemplations, reflections, and meditations which open us to the grace of divine mystery at work when we enter into inner silence. Full of practical advice, anyone who seeks ways to live as a monk in the world will find a rich feast of possibility within its pages.”
-Christine Valters Paintner, Ph.D., founder of Abbey of the Arts and author of Sacred Time: Embracing an Intentional Way of Life

Sessions:  1
Dates:  2/20/2021 to 2/21/2021
Instructor:  Beverly Lanzetta, Ph.D.
Fees: 
$110.00   (Class Fee)